Gluten Free Foods List

Gluten Free Foods List for a gluten free diet

Living on a gluten free diet it's important to pay attention to foods which we consume and their ingredients. I recommend having a gluten free foods list on hand, to help guide you on what foods are allowed and which ones to avoid.

The good news is many local grocery stores carry gluten free products. If your supply is limited, purchasing on-line is the next best thing

Gluten is found in many products and be confusing for anyone who is new to a gluten free diet. Many foods contain gluten and many food ingredients have hidden sources of gluten, which can cause one's gluten free diet to be very limiting and not to mention discouraging.

Those on a gluten free diet must also be aware of certain products which have been cross contaminated with wheat. Foods labels that have "may contain wheat" are from manufacturers that produce wheat products. Its recommended to read all ingredients. listed and if you are still not 100% sure, its best not taking the chance and find out the hard way.

Restaurants are another high risk for cross contamination. Deep fried foods such as french fries are fried in the same oils as other breaded foods. Although today most restaurants do accommodate gluten sensitivity and celiac disease and offer gluten friendly menus, it is still not 100% gluten free.

Cross contamination can also happen as close as home, anywhere from un cleaned counter surfaces and utensils used by a household member who consumes wheat products to the common shared butter and toaster. It is important to take precautions to prevent cross contamination when living with others who don't share the same intolerance or allergy.

Below is a basic gluten free foods list of what foods are suitable for a celiac diet. Foods that are allowed, foods to avoid and products with hidden ingredients, one would might not know.

Gluten Free Foods List:

Gluten free grains and gluten free flours include:

  • Amaranth
  • Arrowroot
  • Buckwheat
  • Chickpeas (Garbanzos)
  • Corn
  • Flax Flours from nuts/beans/seeds
  • Millet


  • Potato starch or flour
  • Quinoa and Quinoa flour
  • Rice (and rice bran/flour)
  • Sago Sorghum
  • Soy (but not soy sauce)
  • Tapioca
  • Teff

Foods which contain gluten include:

  • Barley
  • Barley malt/extract
  • Bran
  • Bulgur
  • Couscous
  • Durum
  • Farina
  • Faro
  • Kamut
  • Malt
  • Matzo flour/meal
  • Orzo
  • Panko
  • Rye
  • Seitan
  • Semolina
  • Spelt
  • Triticale
  • Udon
  • Wheat
  • Wheat bran/germ/starch

HIDDEN SOURCES OF GLUTEN   taken from the book  The whole life nutrition Cookbook  by Alissa Sergersten and Tom Malterre.

Baking powder
Some brands contain gluten. Look for the brand that says gluten fee  or make your own.  1/4 cup baking soda and 1\2 cup cream of tartar and 1\2 cup arrowroot powder. Mix and store in glass jar.

Beer  
Beer and ale fermented contains gluten from wheat and barley.

Bread
Bread made from wheat, barley, unbleached flour, all purpose flour, spelt, kamut, barley rye. Also sprouted breads containing sprouted grain flours wheat,  spelt, kamut barley and rye.

Brown Rice Syrup
Some brands contain barley although Lundberg brown rice syrup is gluten free

Candy
Wheat flour or starch may be used to prevent sticking . Gluten may be in the candy too.

Caramel Colour
IN USA caramel color is made from corn. may contain gluten in the form of wheat starch or malt syrup if it is foreign made.

Cereal
Breakfast cereals are made from wheat, barley rye, spelt, kamut. Many contain malt syrup, malt extract, malt syrup or barley malt. Read labels. Malt is often barley.

Citric Acid
Citric acid can be fermented from wheat, corn, molasses or beets. While corn is the only source used in USA about 25% of the citric acid used in food and d r inks in the US is imported by from other countries which may use wheat

Coffee
Some flavoured coffee drinks use wheat as a flavor carrier. Pure coffee is gluten freee

Dairy products
Some dairy products contain modified food starch which may contain gluten. Products such as yogurt, cottage cheese, sour cream may contain this starch. Malted milk, chocolate milk and cheese spreads may contain gluten.

Dextrin
USA dextrin is usually made from corn or tapioca but can be made from wheat

Egg substitutes
These products are not entirely made of eggs and can contain many additional ingredients including wheat

Emergen-C
Some flavors of emergenC vitamin C drink mixes may contain wheat

Flavourings
Natural flavorings are usually gluten free though some for meat may contain wheat

Flour
make sure all flours say gluten free. Even rice flour can be cross contaminated with gluten when produced in a mill that is not certified gluten free.  Careful especially if Celiac. Usually pretty safe for gluten sensitive

Grans
The ceral grans wheat, spelt, kamut, barley, bulur wheat and rye contain gluten. Gluten fee grans are amaranth, buckwheat, corn, millet, teff, rice and quinoa.

Malt
Malt may be made from barley and therefore can contain gluten

Maltodectrin.
US maltodextrin cannot contain gluten unless it is declared on the ingredient label. it is usually made from corn, rice or potatoe in the USA. Foreign ade food products containing maltodextrin may contain gluten

Meat
Fillers are used in processed meat including sausages luncheon meats and hotdogs and nedd to be avoided on a gluten free diet. Also be sure to avoid self basting turkeys.

Miso
Miso usually contains barley some varieties use rice. Miso made with brown rice can still contain gluten in the Koji, which can contain wither barley or wheat. Look for a miso that use rice Koji and is labeled gluten free

Modified food starch
Usually made from corn in USA. but can be made from wheat if foreign made. The contents of the starch shoiuld be declared on the label. These rules do not apply to the pharmaceutical industry where gluten may be usedd.

Non Dairy milk
Some non dairy milk brands can contain a very small amount of barley malt to which the gluten sensitive individual can react to. Some brands may contain wheat.

Oatmeal
Oats are naturally gluten free although most oats sold in USA may be cross contaminated with gluten during harvesting processing or packaging. Look for Certified Gluten free oats.

Packaged Dessert Mixes
pudding, cake, frosting mixes and cake decorations are all usually containing gluten.

Pastas
pasta is usually made from semolina flour, or wheat flour which contains gluten. Look for pastas made from Rice, quinoa, corn.  Gluten free labeled.

Seasonings
packaged seasoning mixes made from a combination of spices and herbs usually contain wheat flour as a carrier and it may or may not be declared on the label

Soup and soup mixes
many packaged or canned soups can contain gluten in the form of wheat as a thickener. Bouillon cubes usually contain gluten in the form of wheat as a binder.

Soy sauce
Soy contains wheat. Look for what free Tamari and use it to replace soy sauce.

Vegetable starch
Vegetable starch or vegetable protein on the ingredient label could mean  corn, peanuts, rice corn soy or wheat

Vinegar
Distilled vinegar made from grains is safe to eat because gluten cannot survive the distillation process, though MALT vinegar contains gluten and is not safe to eat. Wine vinegars, brown rice vinegar, apple cider vinegar are all gluten free.

Yeast
nutritional yeast or brewers yeast is a by product of the brewing industry and may or may not contain gluten
You may want to call the manufacturer. Baking yeast used to make bread rise is gluten free. However 75% of gluten sensitive people may be yeast sensitive also.

Other products with Hidden sources of gluten:

  • Ales
  • Artificial Colors
  • Artificial Flavors
  • Beer
  • Breading
  • Brown rice syrup
  • Coating mix
  • Communion wafers
  • Condiments
  • Croutons
  • Candy
  • Deli Meats
  • Food Starch
  • Modified Food Starches
  • Marinades
  • Maltose
  • Maltodextrin
  • Medications
  • MSG
  • Mustard
  • Natural Flavors
  • Oats
  • Salad dressings
  • Sauces
  • Soups / broths
  • Stuffing
  • Soy Sauce
  • Thickeners
  • Vitamins / Mineral and herbal supplements
  • Lipstick Gloss and Balms

Any questions or comments on Gluten Free Foods? Please feel free to Contact Us

Gluten Free Foods List TOP OF PAGE

Return to Gluten Free Living HOME PAGE